SENG ANNOUNCEMENT

A Webinar Event for Parents, Educators and Health Professionals
SENG WEBINAR EVENT
Thursday, March 18
 
Sylvia Rimm
Sylvia Rimm
 

WEBINAR DETAILS



Date:
March 18, 2010

Time: 7:30 PM Eastern
6:30 PM Central
5:30 PM Mountain
4:30 PM Pacific

Location: Participate at home or office using your computer.

All registered guests have access to both live and recorded sessions.  Recordings will be provided to registered guests within one week after the live event.

 
The Gifted Child: Superachiever or Underachiever -- Parents and Teachers Make the Difference 
   
 
The early environments which foster giftedness in children also make them vulnerable to feeling extreme pressures. The praise and power which cultivate a positive learning environment may become "too much of a good thing." Gifted children may thus internalize highly competitive pressures to be brilliant, perfect, extraordinarily creative, beautiful and/or popular. The pressures that gifted children internalize can lead to motivation or may also cause them to learn defensive patterns which lead to underachievement. Families and schools can help gifted children to cope with these pressures by providing realistic challenges and guidance. Schools which provide for the needs of gifted children will encourage them to make a commitment to their education and a contribution to society. They can learn to feel good about their personal accomplishments and about themselves.  
 
Dr. Sylvia Rimm is a psychologist who directs Family Achievement Clinic in Cleveland, Ohio and specializes in working with gifted children. She is a clinical professor at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine. Dr. Rimm speaks and publishes internationally on family and school approaches to achievement. She has authored 22 books, including Why Bright Kids Get Poor Grades, and co-authored the popular textbook, Education of the Gifted and Talented. Dr. Rimm was a longtime contributing correspondent on NBC's Today and a favorite personality on public radio. She also served on the board of the National Association for Gifted Children. .

ABOUT SENG WEBINARS:

If you experience difficulty in registering for the webinar, copy the following link into your browser:
https://s50189.gridserver.com/webinar_download_order_form.shtml
 
For more information, contact office@sengifted.org, phone 845-797-5054. This webinar is provided by SENG, www.SENGifted.org.
 
SENG is committed to sharing complex issues relating to the social and emotional needs of giftedness. Webinars reflect the opinions of their speakers and do not necessarily represent the philosophy of SENG. SENG invites your comments and discussion about this webinar following the session.